LUGRo-Mesh Forum (español/english)

The Nightwing Firmware => Nightwing SVN => Topic started by: PCDOM on June 16, 2009, 10:27:34 am



Title: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 16, 2009, 10:27:34 am
Hi,

I have a problem with compilation, it is with script to change gateway_id to zap-MACADDRESS and zpriv-MACADDRESS

maybe it is my line is not OK

file nightwing in trunk/nightwing/etc/init.d

 ## Determine nodo_id for the first time. Then it could be changed.

 let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $5$6}')

replace by

## Determine nodo_id for the first time. Then it could be changed.

 NODE_ID=$(echo $LAN_MAC| tr -d : )

or i made another mistake, you can see the instructions (in French) at this address

http://www.zapbas-saint-laurent.org/routers/Compilation%20du%20Firmware%20NightWing.htm (http://www.zapbas-saint-laurent.org/routers/Compilation%20du%20Firmware%20NightWing.htm)

The comoilation works good but after flashed picostation2, the network is zap and priv without mac address - mac address like this 000000000000 - no :   

Can you help me ?


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: M_Campff on June 16, 2009, 06:36:03 pm
Vous devrez modifier le    ligne du code numéro 104:

let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $5$6}')

par

let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6}')

bonne chance!!!

Martín
PD: my french is too bad!!


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 17, 2009, 08:16:29 am
Vous devrez modifier le    ligne du code numéro 104:

let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $5$6}')

par

let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6}')

bonne chance!!!

Martín
PD: my french is too bad!!

I try this line but the AP keeped zap and zpri

mac address didn't write, I would like

zap-000000000000
zpriv-000000000000

Helene Gauthier


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 17, 2009, 08:42:54 am
Please look at if you have mac address in eth0.


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 17, 2009, 04:02:50 pm
Please look at if you have mac address in eth0.
OK, I retry to compile firmware from your svn and openwrt svn
I changed nothing and I have the same problem, the networks are
lugro-mesh
lugro-secure
maybe it have a problem when I execute your steps ?
Can you help me ?
Helene Gauthier


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 17, 2009, 05:38:28 pm
 ???
If you dont have Mac Address is a hardware problem.
No software problem.


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 17, 2009, 06:33:22 pm
???
If you dont have Mac Address is a hardware problem.
No software problem.
OK, I flashed two PicoStation2 to test my firmware

Between each test, I flashed each PicoStation with original firmware of UBIQUITI (mac address is ok on AIR OS)

I reflashed with your beta4 version and now the number after lugro-mesh-xxxxx and lugro-secure-xxxxx is ok

I think that I have a problem with my steps of compilation

Some idea ?

Is it wifidog is uploaded during compilation ? or can I have to copy wifidog files from dev.wifidog.org ?

I'm writing french instructions to compile your firmware, after I will create english documentation and give it  to you

this is my doc in french

http://www.zapbas-saint-laurent.org/routers/Compilation%20du%20Firmware%20NightWing.htm

Helene Gauthier


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 17, 2009, 07:05:39 pm
???
If you dont have Mac Address is a hardware problem.
No software problem.

OK, I flashed two PicoStation2 to test my firmware

Some idea ?

We have not done tests with that hardware.
I did not have that in mind in the last answered.

Maybe the problem is this line:

LAN_MAC=$(ifconfig $LAN_IFACE | grep HWaddr | awk '{print $5}')

Waht do you see if you enter this command?

# ifconfig eth0

Please paste the result.

Quote

Is it wifidog is uploaded during compilation ? or can I have to copy wifidog files from dev.wifidog.org ?


Wifidog is uploaded during compilation

Quote
I'm writing french instructions to compile your firmware, after I will create english documentation and give it  to you

this is my doc in french

http://www.zapbas-saint-laurent.org/routers/Compilation%20du%20Firmware%20NightWing.htm

Grate news.
We appreciate that.

Saludos.-


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 18, 2009, 04:08:52 am


We have not done tests with that hardware.
I did not have that in mind in the last answered.

Maybe the problem is this line:

LAN_MAC=$(ifconfig $LAN_IFACE | grep HWaddr | awk '{print $5}')

What do you see if you enter this command?

# ifconfig eth0

Please paste the result.


this is my doc in english

http://www.zapbas-saint-laurent.org/routers/Compilation%20Nightwing%20Firmware%20ZAP.htm

Maybe you can see my problem with the steps

When and where do you want that I execute this command

# ifconfig eth0

Helene Gauthier


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 18, 2009, 08:35:26 am
When and where do you want that I execute this command
# ifconfig eth0
Helene Gauthier

Entering the device via ssh.

Saludos.-


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 18, 2009, 11:10:00 am
Entering the device via ssh.
Ok, I flashed with my variables without line for mac address
the documentation infrench and in english are available here
http://www.zapbas-saint-laurent.org/routers/Compilation%20du%20Firmware%20NightWing.htm
http://www.zapbas-saint-laurent.org/routers/Compilation%20Nightwing%20Firmware%20ZAP.htm

it works fine

when I change the line for mac address and flash again, I can't access to the picostation at all

something is wrong on the command line
 let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6}')


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 18, 2009, 11:24:49 am
Waht do you see if you enter this command?

# ifconfig eth0

Please paste the result.


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 18, 2009, 01:24:01 pm
Waht do you see if you enter this command?

# ifconfig eth0

Please paste the result.

this is the result of this command with my firmware modified but not for zap-xxxxxxxxxxxx (ehere x are mac address)
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:6D:AE:CD:A6
          inet addr:192.168.1.178  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2403 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1529 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:337587 (329.6 KiB)  TX bytes:129451 (126.4 KiB)
          Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000

I cannot see the picostation2 flashed with the line  let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6}')
I can't see from my router, from ubiquiti discovery, from hotspot discovery and spectrum analyzer
so I can't access on it and execute the command

I think the ip from dns is changed automaticcally each x seconds


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 18, 2009, 04:16:38 pm
[...]
I cannot see the picostation2 flashed with the line  let NODE_ID=0x$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6}')
I can't see from my router, from ubiquiti discovery, from hotspot discovery and spectrum analyzer
so I can't access on it and execute the command

I think the ip from dns is changed automaticcally each x seconds

Sory, in this case, i cant help you.
We have not tested in this hardware


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 18, 2009, 05:06:41 pm
Sory, in this case, i cant help you.
We have not tested in this hardware

Ok, I reflashed with all the specifications of our portal captive and not change for the node_id

I can access by ssh

Wifidog see the node on but I can't see the hostspot with scanner of hotspot

this if ifconfig result

root@ZapBSL:~# ifconfig eth0
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:6D:AE:CC:00
          inet addr:192.168.1.162  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:350 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:205 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:71300 (69.6 KiB)  TX bytes:20146 (19.6 KiB)
          Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000



Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 18, 2009, 10:22:34 pm
Ok.
What do you see if you enter this command?

ifconfig eth0 | grep HWaddr | awk '{print $5}'

Do you see your MAC ADDRESS?


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: PCDOM on June 21, 2009, 05:23:08 am
Ok.
What do you see if you enter this command?

ifconfig eth0 | grep HWaddr | awk '{print $5}'

Do you see your MAC ADDRESS?

Yes, I see the MAC ADDRESS
00:15:6D:AE:CC:00

if I try this command

 ifconfig eth0 | grep HWaddr | awk -F : '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6}'

this is the result

eth0      Link encapEthernet  HWaddr 00156DAECC

and this command

ifconfig eth0 | grep HWaddr | awk -F : '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6$7}'

this is the result

eth0      Link encapEthernet  HWaddr 00156DAECC00

and this command

 ifconfig eth0 | grep HWaddr | awk -F : '{print $3$4$5$6$7}'

this is the result

156DAECC00

is it the command will be

 let NODE_ID=00$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $3$4$5$6$7}')

???


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware
Post by: scriado on June 21, 2009, 08:48:04 pm
try this

LAN_MAC=$(ifconfig $LAN_IFACE | grep HWaddr | awk '{print $5}')
NODE_ID=$(echo $LAN_MAC|tr -d :)


Title: Re: Problems to adapt firmware -resolved
Post by: PCDOM on June 22, 2009, 05:56:27 am
try this

LAN_MAC=$(ifconfig $LAN_IFACE | grep HWaddr | awk '{print $5}')
NODE_ID=$(echo $LAN_MAC|tr -d :)
ok I try it, it seems that will be good soon

After try it, I execute this command
echo $NODE_ID

and this is the result

00156DADCC00 06156DADCC00 0A156DADCC00 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 00156DAECC00 00-15-6D-AD-CC-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00

after I try

echo $NODE_ID | awk '{print $5}'

and this is the result

00156DAECC00

I try this script

## Determine nodo_id for the first time. Then it could be changed.
LAN_MAC=$(ifconfig eth0 | grep HWaddr | awk '{print $5}') NODE_ID=$(echo $LAN_MAC| awk -F: '{print $1$2$3$4$5$6}')

it works fine !!!

Helene Gauthier