LUGRo-Mesh Forum (espaņol/english)

The Nightwing Firmware => Future Requests / Wish List => Topic started by: PCDOM on July 31, 2009, 07:12:06 am



Title: IF server is down
Post by: PCDOM on July 31, 2009, 07:12:06 am
Hi,

are you a solution when the authentification server is down ?

I supposed too the visualisation and OpenDNS server is down

Is it possible to create a script in the firmware, when the servers is checked, something like this

If server auth X is down go to this server Y (example: development server)

If server vis X is down go to this server Y

If server DNS X is down do to server y

????

Helene Gauthier


Title: Re: IF server is down
Post by: JulioCP on July 31, 2009, 09:57:13 am
Hi,

are you a solution when the authentification server is down ?

If the Auth Server is down, the network won't have Internet access in the Public AP, but it will have it inside the mesh cloud. That's the behavior need it to not incur in legislation problems (that we have to respect).

WiFiDog has the posibility to have a backup Auth Server. At this moment we don't use one.

Quote
I supposed too the visualisation


You could have several Vis servers running, and if they reach each other they will exchange the topology info that they have.

Quote
and OpenDNS server is down

If the ALL the OpenDNS servers are down, AFAIR the GW nodes should still have their own DNS setting. But the network won't have the filtering capabilities used from OpenDNS.

Quote
Is it possible to create a script in the firmware, when the servers is checked, something like this

If server auth X is down go to this server Y (example: development server)

If server vis X is down go to this server Y

If server DNS X is down do to server y

????

Yes, it should be possible.

Helene Gauthier
[/quote]

           Saludos, Julio


Title: Re: IF server is down
Post by: PCDOM on July 31, 2009, 11:47:43 am
Is it possible to create a script in the firmware, when the servers is checked, something like this

If server auth X is down go to this server Y (example: development server)

If server vis X is down go to this server Y

If server DNS X is down do to server y

????

Yes, it should be possible.


           Saludos, Julio

Do you think about add something like that on the next firmware ?

Helene Gauthier