LUGRo-Mesh Forum (espaņol/english)
December 06, 2021, 09:34:28 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to SMF For Free
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

BYPASS BATMAN on NightWing Firmware

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: BYPASS BATMAN on NightWing Firmware  (Read 1111 times)
PCDOM
Full Member
***
Posts: 105


« on: October 01, 2009, 06:06:48 am »

Hi,

my organisation decided to bypass BATMAN on nightwing firmware, what do you think about it ?

I joined zip file (nightwing.diff) and I want to know what is the implication of this many changes

Helene Gauthier
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

JulioCP
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 113


WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2009, 07:48:16 am »

Hi,

my organisation decided to bypass BATMAN on nightwing firmware, what do you think about it ?

Do you intent to replace B.A.T.M.A.N. with another protocol? If so, which?

Quote
I joined zip file (nightwing.diff) and I want to know what is the implication of this many changes

For what I saw in the patch (didn't try it) you just comment everything related to BMX. So, that lives you with a script that creates a router with 2 APs. No mesh, no connection between nodes.

Is that what you are trying to accomplish?

Quote
Helene Gauthier

           Saludos, Julio
Report Spam   Logged
PCDOM
Full Member
***
Posts: 105


« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2009, 03:35:46 pm »


Do you intent to replace B.A.T.M.A.N. with another protocol? If so, which?


Nothing else, just bypass beacause my organisation think that is  vulnerability for our server authentification to use visualisation server

Quote
For what I saw in the patch (didn't try it) you just comment everything related to BMX. So, that lives you with a script that creates a router with 2 APs. No mesh, no connection between nodes.

Is that what you are trying to accomplish?

           Saludos, Julio

No mesh but auto-config AP and Gateway

Helene Gauthier
« Last Edit: October 01, 2009, 03:37:26 pm by PCDOM » Report Spam   Logged
JulioCP
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 113


WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2009, 03:43:36 pm »


Do you intent to replace B.A.T.M.A.N. with another protocol? If so, which?


Nothing else, just bypass beacause my organisation think that is  vulnerability for our server authentification to use visualisation server

 Huh How?

Anyway, you can keep the mesh and just avoid using the Vis Server.

Quote
Quote
For what I saw in the patch (didn't try it) you just comment everything related to BMX. So, that lives you with a script that creates a router with 2 APs. No mesh, no connection between nodes.

Is that what you are trying to accomplish?

           Saludos, Julio
No mesh but auto-config AP and Gateway

You will loose all the great things that a WMN does  Undecided

And all nodes will have to have an Internet connection.

Quote
Helene Gauthier

                Saludos, Julio
Report Spam   Logged
scriado
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 135


« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2009, 03:43:50 pm »



Nothing else, just bypass beacause my organisation think that is  vulnerability for our server authentification to use visualisation server


That makes no sense.
Can expand with more information and proof of that assertion?
Report Spam   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum
Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy